Student Council

Finn Valley College acknowledges and supports the important role that students have to play in the life of the school. In supporting the student voice in the decision-making processes that guide school policy and procedures it is essential to have strong voices to advocate on behalf of students.

Our school has had a Student Council for many years to give that strong voice. The students are democratically elected by their peers. Each year group is represented by a male and female student who is elected by his/her own year group. The Student Council meets on regular occasions throughout the year to discuss matters of concern to students and to bring forward new ideas that may help to improve student life and to develop the school.

Students are given opportunities to raise issues, seek support and bring forth new ideas through a designated Student Council desk that operates at lunch time each week, a suggestion box system and by approaching members of the Student Council directly. The names of the Student Council members are displayed prominently on the Digital Noticeboard throughout the school year.

Ms Freda Diver is the teacher who acts as liaison with the Student Council.

1st Year:
Christopher Stewart (Mc Court)
Saidhbh Maguire (Montague)
2nd Year:
Cealan Mc Menamin (O’Brien)
Ellie Mae Mc Daid (O’Coonor)r
3rd Year:
Ryan Hannigan (Synge)
Eimear Flaherty (Swift)
Transition Year:
Niamh Browne (Friel)
Brooke Stewart (Friel)
5th Year:
Adam Gallagher (Boland)
Shannon Gillen (Beckett)
6th Year:
Aoife Gallagher (Kinsella)
Cameron Russell (Kinsella)
Ciara Mc Ginty
Elisha Mc Daid